South of Toulouse , built in 1540's, The "Château de Saint-Élix" and its manucured parkland is the black diamond of the south west coming from the 16th century perfectly restaured and only 25 minutes by car from Toulouse Blagnac airport. (10 mins. by helicopter) with close to 4 hectares flat land available .
The Château itself offers 2880 m2 on 5 levels , of which 1880 m2 of livable space.
On the first floor: entry hallway, large lounge , 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms.
On the second floor : 4 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms.
On the third floor : lounge, 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms.
Large attic and new roofing.
On the ground floor : reception room 165 m2 and kitchen : 365 m2 .
Possibility of acquiring more land and also the huge winter garden "Orangerie" of the castle itself , which needs full renovation
The proximity of Toulouse-Blagnac airport and the Airbus Group Headquarters is a major factor in the decision making process for this investment.
THE CASTLE : In its greenery surroundings, the high brick towers covered with shiny slates give to the Castle a magnificent and legendary look.
The legend itself is there, originated by a true story between King Francois the First and a charming lady whom beautiful eyes rushed the King to build a castle just for her, as what was said all during the 19th century.
The troubles start when the family Suarez d’Almeyda will sell the estate in 1926, the castle is then made empty and will be transferred several times to other owners.
Later occupied by a training school of the French Air Force, the roof was destroyed by a fire in 1945, this is the time the castle was abandoned, then ruined and looted just before it was bought in 1975.
5 extensive years of refurbishment were necessary to rehabilitate the castle as it was originally in the 16th century. The 2 main towers are restored and the huge roof structured frame is reinstalled, this being a very unique restoration project ultimately reestablishing this residence into our modern times.
The castle itself is erected on an isolated terrace protected by large dry moats, it is built in pink brick stones but the opening structures and mullions are made out of stones. The cubic living quarters are flanked by 4 towers at each corner, covered by a conical slated roof. The castle itself has a pavilion type of slated roof of 18 meters high, giving a magnificent look to the whole, as it was done for the castles in the Northern part of France.
The main facades have 3 dormer windows on top of the big windows line, without having the pilasters connecting the different floors as it is the case in the castles of the Loire Valley at that period, most likely because of the techniques used to work the brick stones, finally it gives to the castle its architectural signature and brings it closer to the southern tradition. The entrance was behind a drawbridge, still in place up to the 17th century, then the inner yard opens to a double staircase up to the door of the residence. There is an entrance to the basement directly to the kitchens floor and service area on both sides of a central corridor.
The same layout is applied in the two residence floors and in the large attic space.
At the main floor, there is the large reception hall and master bedroom, and on the left side of the corridor 2 rooms connected to many other servicing rooms part of the towers for storage or wardrobe. There is the same layout on the upper floor, serviced by a straight staircase parallel to the corridor.
- Type Onroerend Goed
- B&B / Gites
- Extra info
- Grond 1-5 HA
- 36.145 m²
- 1.880 m²
- Breedband Internet